Top Sites


Islamic Calendar / Hijri Calendar

Do you want an Islamic (hijri) calendar on your web site like this one:


All you need to do is copy this code into your web page:

<iframe src="http://www.linkislam.net/cgi-bin/hijri.cgi" frameborder=0 width=180 height=270 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 scrolling="no"></iframe>

Other Webmaster Tools

Names of the Islamic Months

  • Muharram ul Haram (or shortened to Muharram) محرّم
  • Safar صفر
  • Rabi' al-awwal (Rabi' I) ربيع الأول
  • Rabi' al-akhir (or Rabi' al-thani) (Rabi' II) ربيع الآخر أو ربيع الثاني
  • Jumada al-awwal (Jumada I) جمادى الأول
  • Jumada al-akhir (or Jumada al-thani) (Jumaada II) جمادى الآخر أو جمادى الثاني
  • Rajab رجب
  • Sha'ban شعبان
  • Ramadan رمضان
  • Shawwal شوّال
  • Dhu al-Qi'dah ذو القعدة
  • Dhu al-Hijjah ذو الحجة

The Islamic calendar, also known as the Hijri calendar, takes as its epoch the Hijra, the emigration of Muhammad and his followers in 622 A.D. from Mecca to Medina. It is a lunar calendar with 12 lunar months (see above) and is widely used in many Islamic countries as well as being universally used to determine Islamic holy days. Each lunar (synodic) month consists of the time it takes for the moon to complete one cycle of phases, i.e. the time between one new moon and the next. As a synodic month is approximately 29.531 days, a year in the Hijri calendar has 354.37 days. As this is shorter than the solar (tropical) year, the dates of the Hijri calendar shift with respect to the Gregorian calendar.

How do I know the current Hijri date?

It is not an easy question to answer. As a rough way to find the current Hijra year you can multiply the current Gregorian year by 33, subtract 622, divide by 32 then subtract 622 again:

Hijra = (((33 * Gregorian) - 622) / 32) - 622


Contact Us | Link to Us | Make Link Islam Your Home Page | Disclaimer